Power Boost!

So, starting Week 2 of the Couch 2 5K was a bit tougher than I hoped it would be.  Day 3 of Week 1 almost started to feel good, so I had high hopes.  Let’s just say – it took every bit of willpower I had to get through it yesterday.  Tonight, I feel like I’m coming down with a cold, so Day 2 isn’t looking so great either!

I know that God has called me to do this whole running thing (more on that later).  Philippians 2:13 tells me that God is working in me, giving me the desire and the power to do what pleases Him.

So, when the going gets rough, the conventional wisdom would be to “dig deep” and “believe you can do this!”  But my real power will come from Him who has given me the desire to do this and who will give me the power to complete it.

In that light, I’ve found myself quoting His truths to myself during those really tough moments of the run, and I thought others might benefit from these reminders, too.  I’ve found lots of relevant truths, so here are just a few that I will repeat when I need that extra boost to power me through:

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  (Philippians 4:13)

If I trust in the LORD, He will renew my strength. I will soar on wings like eagles; I will run and not grow weary, I will walk and not be faint.  (Isaiah 40:31)

Let me run with perseverance the race marked out for me. (Hebrews 12:1)

When I walk, my steps will not be hampered; when I run, I will not stumble. (Proverbs 4:12)

You are a God who gives endurance and encouragement. (Romans 15:5)

Lord,  strengthen me with all power according to your glorious might so that I may have great endurance and patience. (Colossians 1:11)

I could go on and on, but I will stop there.  Let His power give you strength this week!

Leave a Reply

