Why on earth am I doing this?

On Friday, I’m going to ask my body to do something I’m pretty sure it has never done.  Not in my whole life.  To run for 20 straight minutes.

I know to some of my friends, that’s a nice simple jog around the neighborhood.  Not for me.  I have always hated to run – even in high school when I was relatively fit.  Now I’m 20 years older and 60+ pounds heavier.

So, in my brain is the same question that is in the heads of my non-runner friends – “Why on earth am I doing this?”

I could give you some really practical reasons.  There are lots.  Starting with the extra 60 pounds. 🙂  Beyond that, my lack of energy to really enjoy my family some of the time.

One of the biggest pushes I got in this area of health came 3 months ago.  A friend died of breast cancer.  A wonderful, committed mom who loved her kids to the max.  Who left those 4 kids behind, all 11 and under.  A few days later, an article appeared in the newspaper.  Some would call it coincidence, but I know that God put it in front of me that week.  Because I have a family history of breast cancer, it’s the long-term health issue that is most top of mind for me, and He knew I would read it.

I wish I could find the exact article, but the whole thing can be summed up in this statement:  Women who are physically active (I think it said 3-4 days per week for 1 hour) have a 35% reduced risk for breast cancer.

That certainly got me thinking.  But not doing.

About a month ago, I noticed a few friends on Facebook clicking “Like” on the Couch to 5K Running Plan.  Since I’m pretty good at the couch thing, I decided to check it out.

Three days later, a friend and I agreed that we were going to try this thing out.  This was definitely an impulse decision for me, but I knew it was the right thing to do.

The first day was miserable.  But at the end, God was gracious to tell me that it was just where He wanted me.

Since then, He has been revealing to me why.  I have always been a person who has relied on her own strengths to accomplish whatever was in front of me.  I don’t like to ask questions, and I don’t like to show weakness.  I’ve had pride in my abilities and achievements.

Over the last few years, God’s been working on me, transforming me to look at those abilities and gifts as from Him and for Him.  My energies have begun to turn to what I can do for Him, not for me.  But it’s still been largely about what I can do.

So, He’s using running to show me what HE can do, if I will follow Him.  Trust Him to work through me.  Turn to Him to sustain me through every step – and sometimes it literally takes asking Him to help me get through every step of that run.

If you had told me a month ago that I would be able to run 5 minutes straight, I would have laughed in your face.  I could barely run the distance between two houses.

Ask me today, and I’ll tell you that I CAN run 5 minutes straight, because it is God working through me, giving me the power to do what pleases Him. (Phillippians 2:13).  And I hope that on Friday I’ll tell you that I CAN run 20 minutes straight.  I will continue to trust in Him, because if I do, I will run and not grow weary. (Isaiah 40:31)

That’s why.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kelli said,

    Another favorite of mine is Hebrews 12:1-
    Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

    Will be keeping you and your running in my prayers! We can do this!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

