Just Call Me Peter

Do you ever read a quote (or in this case, a Facebook status) that just makes you stop and think?  Apparently it’s been happening a lot to me lately!

So here it is for today:

Peter began to sink when his faith shifted from the firmness of Jesus’ word to the instability of his circumstance. Trusting in Jesus and his word over our perceptions is difficult to learn. That’s why the Lord takes us through faith-building experiences. And it is never for just our own benefit. He’s displaying his power so others’ faith will be strengthened too. ~Jon Bloom

If you’re not familiar with the story, you can find it in Matthew 14:22-33.  Jesus walks across a lake to meet his disciples who are out in a boat.  They see him and are very afraid, thinking he is a ghost.  He admonishes them to “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”  Peter, ever one to test Jesus, says “Lord, if it’s you, tell me to come to you on the water.”

Of course, Jesus does just that, and helps Peter to walk.  Suddenly, Peter notices the wind, and gets scared.  He begins to sink.  Jesus rewponse? 31Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

When I read the Jon Bloom quote, I knew it was just for me.  If you’ve read any of my blog, you know this whole running thing is just not natural to me – yep, almost as unnatural as walking on water.  You hopefully also know that I believe God called me to do it, and that I’ve had to rely on Him and His strength for every step of progress I’ve made.

A few short weeks ago, I was DEEPLY relying on him – almost every step, every breath.  When I was running 60 second intervals, I could only complete them because I called on Him.  When I was up to 5 minute intervals, the last half of those were ALL HIM.  When I had to jump from 8 minutes to 20 minutes, I spent a TON of time in prayer as preparation, because I knew it would have to be Him to get me through it.

But now that my race is 10 days away,  and the most I’ve been able to run without stopping is 2.5 miles, and I haven’t been able to do that the last 2 runs.  I am FULL of doubt about actually completing 3.1 miles without walking.

And yet Jesus is still there.  He is still willing and ready and eager and able to carry me for all 3.1 miles.  But I have to believe Him.  I have to focus on that truth, and not on the circumstances – it’s hot, I’m tired, I’m thirsty.  Not listen to the part of me that says I can’t do it or is afraid I’ll “sink” like Peter did.

I need to keep my eyes on Him and my trust in Him and believe that He’ll carry me through.  After all, He called me to do it.

Ephesians 2:13 (NLT):

13 For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.

Leave a Reply

