A Tale of Two Runs

Let me tell you a little about Thursday’s run.  My final training run before my first 5K run ever.

I ran exactly 2 miles, and didn’t think I was going to make it that far.  (That was my goal…taking it easy heading into the race.)

I had a stitch in my side – twice.  That’s never happened before.

I had trouble breathing.  Haven’t had trouble like that since early in the C25K program.

My knee hurt on and off the rest of the day.

My pace was the slowest it’s been in weeks.

None of this is making me very hopeful heading into the 5K on Saturday.

It’s Thursday night, and I could post this now.  But I’m choosing not to, because it’s not the end of the story.  Because it’s not about the hope I have based on my abilities.  It’s about the trust and hope I have in Jesus Christ.

If I had posted this on Friday, I would have had to tell you about how my knee hurt.  ALL DAY.  I wondered if I would even be able to run.

And yet…

Every time I started to question, I heard this simple question:  “Do you trust me?”

It has been a few days where the Casting Crowns song “Voice of Truth” has been for me – I needed to only listen to HIS truth.  And the truth is:

Phillippians 2:13  13 For God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him.

1 Thess 5:24  The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.

Isaiah 40:31  31 but those who trust in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

With that kind of truth, how could my answer be anything but “Yes, I trust You.”  I have seen His faithfulness and His strength over and over since my first day of running – why would I doubt that He would not provide on the race day?

So, here it is, my race day notes:

I ran the whole darn thing.  From start line to finish line.

I felt great.  The one time that I felt like walking, my iPod changed to “Free to Run” – the song He first used to comfort and encourage me.  Like I could start walking during that song!  By the time the song was over, I was in the home stretch and knew I could make it.

My knee was fine.

I never had a single other stitch, pain, nothing.

I finished 2 minutes faster than the last 2 times I ran the very same course.

I even went back out and ran the Kids Fun Run with Megan. 😉  Who would have thought I would run extra?!

Thanks to Him who is my hope and my strength.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nicole Gebhardt said,

    You are a woman of noble character. Glad to have you as a friend. Congrats on the accomplishment!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

