A New Year

So, it’s been several months since I posted here, and almost as long since I’ve been out running.

And yet I feel prompted to come here today and start blogging again. Maybe because it’s because I put my running shoes on today – if only to run carpool and some errands.  I’m really not blogging for anyone – except myself.  There’s something about putting things out here that keeps me accountable and keeps me thinking and challenging myself.

It’s the start of a new year, and a friend asked on Facebook what my “word of the year” might be. Instantly what popped to my head was “self-control.”

It is time that I grab hold of God and let this fruit of the Spirit be shown in my life. Whether it’s my eating, time management, clutter, frustration/impatience…I know this is where He wants to work on me this year.

I’m committing to a few things as we begin 2011:

  • Know God more deeply.  To really commit the time to deepen my relationship with Him – not to just increase my knowledge OF him, but to get to Know Him more deeply.
  • Scripture Memory.  Joining in with Beth Moore’s Siesta Scripture Memory , I’ll be memorizing 2 verses each month.
  • Made to Crave.  With Lysa Terkeurst’s www.madetocrave.org I’m committing to surrender my eating to God’s control.  It will be a tough, but convicting, journey.  I’m thankful for friends who will be journeying with me.
  • Reducing the stuff.  My house needs a radical transformation – room by room – of just getting rid of stuff.  It’s not just my kids’ stuff – it’s mine, too.  I need to bring visual peace to my home and also to help them see that it’s OK to let go of stuff.  I have at least one child who struggles with that, and it’s not coincidence.

I’ll simply end with my first verse of 2011.  I chose this because it fills me with hope that I can do this – because His divine power gives me everything I need.  I’m so thankful that He called me, and that all I need is to Know Him in order to lead the life HE wants me to live – not the one the world tempts me to live.

2 Peter 1:3-4

His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.  Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature, having escaped the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

 

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Rachel said,

    L- is it because we are getting closer to that number on the birthday cake? I have the exact new years resolutions as you. Although my word was simplicity but it could have easily been self-control! I just saw your blog for the first time keep it up it’s really good. I can quilt but I can’t write and I love seeing all my friends show their creativity in this way.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

