The Thankfulness Project

So, I know – this is not a new concept.

I’ve read One Thousand Gifts…and maybe you have too.  I’ve had great intentions about starting my list.  And have never followed through.  Maybe that’s you, too.

But do you ever have one of those times where God just speaks to you in so many different ways that you know it’s time to  do something you’ve just been “meaning” to do?

That’s me this week.

Let’s step back a bit.  For several weeks, I’ve been finding myself overwhelmed yet unmotivated.  A really busy summer has turned into a really busy fall, and I suddenly reached the point where I’ve just sort of run out of gas.  I’m not very fruitful with my days, and then I’m frustrated with myself.  I’m tired and unmotivated to do much, and then I’m staying at home so I’m isolated…anyway, you get the drift.  I’m not finding a whole lot of joy these days.

So Monday morning, as I was going through my Jesus Calling devotional, God got my attention.  Now, let me be honest.  I love this devotional.  It makes me think every day (well, every day that I read it).  But I don’t always follow through on reading the passages of Scripture that go with it.  That day, unmistakably, I knew that I needed to crack open my Bible and read the full text of Psalm 13, which was reference at the end.  Not the other passage, just Psalm 13.  And here’s what I found:

Psalm 13

For the choir director: A psalm of David.

1 O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever?
How long will you look the other way?
2 How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul,
with sorrow in my heart every day?
How long will my enemy have the upper hand? 3 Turn and answer me, O Lord my God!
Restore the sparkle to my eyes, or I will die.
4 Don’t let my enemies gloat, saying, “We have defeated him!”
Don’t let them rejoice at my downfall.

5 But I trust in your unfailing love.
I will rejoice because you have rescued me.
6 I will sing to the Lord
because he is good to me.

A psalm that is just about struggling.  Feeling down, maybe even defeated.  Wanting to find “the sparkle” again.  And David’s answer?  To rejoice and praise God because He is good and has rescued him.

Simply, to find joy in being thankful.  Hmm, seems like that’s what that book was about…

Monday afternoon, I was reading a post about chores for kids, and how one of the lessons we should teach them through their work is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (NLT):

16 Always be joyful. 17 Never stop praying. 18 Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

There it was again – connecting joy and thankfulness.

Next, I was reading Ann Voskamp’s blog (author of One Thousand Gifts), and there was the link to her October gratitude calendar.

Finally, I jumped in the car to head for the pickup line at school.  And what’s on KLOVE?  The Day of Praise – thanking God for rescuing us.  The DJ was talking about how God had turned her depression into joy.

Well, sometimes it may take me a while – but I got it.  It was time.

To top it all off, at the end of the day I got a shipping notice.  Something I had ordered was on its way.

What was it?  A charm I ordered several weeks ago.  I’ve been frustrated that it was taking so long to arrive.  What kind of charm?  A custom one that says “thankful.”  I ordered it for myself with the goal to wear it every day to remind myself.

And it shipped Monday.

So, whether you’ll be reading these every day or not at all, I will spend this season being boldly thankful, praising God for all he has done for me.  (And if you see me in person, you’ll see the visible reminder somewhere!)

Thanks for taking the time.

Leanna

And so it begins:

I am thankful…

1. For a God who is so very personal that He will coordinate circumstances just to get my attention.

2. For a God who rescues me, in big and small ways.

3. For friends who are part of his plan and notice when I need them.

4.For a place to laugh and be inspired – I love you, ladies of MOMSnext!

5. That He uses broken, imperfect people.  It’s such a privilege to be used by him, even though he knows I’m not worthy.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mary Edwards said,

    Leanna, I fell in love with one thousand gifts also and have been using the cute little seven days of thanks booklets that you can print off her blog for the past couple weeks. Trying to stay in the moment and give thanks for it, even the hard ones. A journey to joy!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

