Five Minute Friday: Roots

“There are two lasting gifts we can give to our children: one is roots, the other, wings.”

It’s a famous quote. My mother cross- stitched it way back when and hung it in my room. I installed it last year on the wall for a friend who is wonderful at giving roots to her children and her grandchildren as her family grows and grows.

It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately, though I might not have used those words.

We live a fairly good “American Christian” life, I’d say. Church every Sunday, lots of family friends who share our values, careful choices about media and technology and activities to protect our children and family time, occasional project-y service and giving efforts and lessons thrown in.

But what do I really want to root my children in? Comfort? What do I want them to fly toward? Worldly success? If I take an honest look at our life, I’m pretty sure that’s what we are teaching. Good job, comfortable home, nice vacations, new clothes every season, college funds…and we take it all for granted.

Yet the answer I really want: rooted in Jesus. His love for them, and nothing else. Flying to Jesus, and nothing else.

It’s creating a lot of tension in my heart and mind, and I’ll be wrestling with it for a while.

20121102-002520.jpg

How to Join:

Want to know how Five Minute Friday got started and how to participate? All the details are here.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hi Leanna,

    What a wonderful quote to have grown up with…
    You are asking great questions, and I know I’ve been asking God similar questions…no easy answers…but I know He keeps asking me to seek after Him, and the more I am in Him, then the more of Him, I can give to our girl…

    Linked up behind you at FMF…good to meet you 🙂

  2. 2

    Missindeedy said,

    I’ll be wrestling right there with you! This piece of writing was greatly convicting. In all the right ways! Roots deserve more intentionality – and my own heart and mind are experiencing that tension, too. Thank you for a wonderful post!

  3. 4

    These are some GOOD thoughts, Leanna! What a necessary challenge for us all to come to….checking our ways of living…seeing how God wants us to use His blessings…thinking of the roots that we are passing along…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

