Where’s the Reward?

I’ve been waiting for the last 6.5 weeks.  Not very patiently.

For what, you ask?  For this running thing to start feeling “good.”  Where’s the magical “runners high?”  Waiting for something more than 1/2 pound to come off each week, when I’ve been running, watching what I eat, and squeezing a little Jillian Michaels in between.

And yesterday, I realized that God didn’t call me to start running because of some earthly reward.  He called me because He had some things to teach me.

Some good, much-needed lessons.  How to rely on Him moment by moment.  The joy of day-by-day obedience.  Not being worried about the future, but just trusting that if I do what He asks to do, I’ll be ready for what He’ll ask tomorrow.

God cares so much more about the journey and the process than He does the reward.  It doesn’t mean there will never be a reward, it just means that the end is not the only thing that matters.

Another lesson for me.  And not one I’m learning quickly, I can assure you.  I’d still like to see that scale move.

Update:  As I’ve been out driving this morning (taking the dog to the kennel – we leave for Florida in 6 hours!), it’s really been bugging me that I left this post where I did.  Because the truth is that I’ve had many rewards over the last 7 weeks – just not the ones I had hoped for.

#1 – My cardiovascular fitness is WAY improved.  Seriously, on Day 1, I thought my heart was going to pound right out of my chest.  My cardio fitness does not in any way impact my running anymore.  (so far)

#2 – I’ve experienced the power of community in a great way.  I wouldn’t be doing this if not for some great friends on the journey with me.

#3 – I’ve seen what God can do in me when I let Him give me the power and the strength.  I would have given up many, many times – especially in the early weeks – if I wasn’t able to pray for strength and actually feel a difference while I was running.

#4 – I’ve experienced the joy of doing what I know God wants me to do.  Even when it seems crazy – which running certainly seemed crazy.  There’s never a day that I get done that I am not joyous that I went out and did it.

#5 – I feel better and have more energy.  I have great new confidence – seriously, I ran 27 minutes yesterday!!  I’m not joking when I say that 7 weeks ago I couldn’t have run to the end of the block without giving up.  If I can do that, what else can I do???

He has much bigger rewards for us that we will ever imagine…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kelli said,

    My scale hasn’t moved either.

    Oh wait, I’m sorry, it has. It’s moved UP.

    But that’s ok, because we know there is something more important for us on this journey!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment